Medal Monday: 2 Duds and a Shrub

So after an interminably long wait, runDisney finally revealed the new “Coast to Coast” medals, and they are truly underwhelming. I was hoping for something colorful, or at least super classy for the return of this much-missed event. Instead we got two medals that are brownish, and look pretty cheap generic.

Now they haven’t specified which medal is for Track 1 (or as I call it “Dopey to Dumbo”) and which is for Track 2, which is completing the required distances in any order other than Marathon Weekend followed immediately by Disneyland Half Marathon Weekend, but I am guessing the one that looks like a license plate is the Track 1 option. I actually find that slightly hillarious since the race weekends are just a few days apart, the chances of anyone driving between Orlando and Anaheim are pretty much zero. They should have made it look like a plane or a jet engine, or Disney 100, or “Partners” or two castles or literally ANYTHING else. Oh well, they sucked me in with the “special medal you can only get for Track 1 in 2024” marketing. They got my money. Who’s laughing now?

On a slightly more positive note, I just finished up a (non-Disney) 12Ks of Christmas virtual race and that medal, at least is adorable!

Yes, that is my completley undecorated Christmas tree in the background. Please don’t remind me that there are just 6 days ’till Christmas. I still have some Dopey miles to get in!

What do you think of the medal reveal? Drop a comment!

Leave a comment